I am not afriad of tomorrow, for I have seen yesterday and I love today~William Allen White

A taste of Vietnam

For me, there are a lot of eating when I travelled to Ho Chi Minh, and I really enjoyed all the foods I got to taste on the trip.

See my previous blog on Hue Cuisine  (imperial court cuisine) foods in Vietnam

Of course Vietnam is famous for its coffee and beef noodles (pho)–> both of which I ate a lot of!  But there are a lot more yummy and local foods I got a chance to experience and really like.  I find some of the tastes and foods are quite similar to Chinese food, but different at the same time.  I noticed with Vietnamese foods, it involves a lot of vegetables, dipping sauces, and wrapping of foods because the ingredients used are so fresh and can all be pretty much eaten raw!

this was such a treat for me, we were pretty much sitting on one the tables in the middle of the road and being served a cup of coffee while watching the city and motorcycles whizzed by. I really recommend all travellers to do this, but you do need a local around because there are no menus, you just sit on a stool and order away. My local friend was wonderful, while sipping the cup of coffee, we enjoyed some local treats she enjoyed on a regular basis.

this is a breakfast snack and I absolutely love it! It's a clear rice paste and inside are dried salty shrimps, it reminds me of Chinese Cheong fan (shrimp rice rolls), a dim sum dish, but I like the Vietnamese one, it looks so cool and it tastes very good

you would expect me to show a picture of pho (beef noodles), I had this at some outdoor eating shop, it was cool. In general, the pho I had outside of Vietnam are quite good, but I think it's because the soup base are all pretty much the same (MSG!!!), but I think the beef are better in Vietnam

Vietnamese drip coffee is famous, I had it everyday when I was in Vietnam. This is actually the civet coffee...you know the beans that went through the system of the civet cat?! Anyway, Vietnamese coffee tends to be stronger in general and we are not supposed to inhale and gulp the drink down like a lattee, rather you sip it and let it stay on your tongue, so it can take quite some time to finish the actual cup (though small) if done the right way

Here, we have the Vietnamese pancake, the one we ordered have mushroom and cheese inside. There is definitely French influence in Vietnamese food, but the Vietnamese love thier vegetables, so you actually use a fork to pull some of the pancake and put it on top of a piece of vegetable and then dip it in sauce before eating it, and it's very good

i cannot tell you how much snail I had when I was in HCM, this is snail cooked in sauce, but I love the minced up snail with stuffed meat the most, which I shared in my "hue cuisine" blog

on one of the evening, we went to a grill restaurant and had a lot of grilled food such as grilled fish and meat, and of course, you wrap all the grilled food in vegetables & dip in suace before eating ^0^

this looks cool huh? You will basically take some of the fish and put it on rice paper with veggies, wrap it and dip in sauce before eating....like I said over and over again, lots of wrapping going on with Vietnamese food, you got to work before you can enjoy ^0^

Comments on: "A taste of Vietnam" (5)

  1. I want to try the fish! 🙂 looks gooood!

  2. I absolutely love Vietnamese cuisine. HCMC is one of my favorite places in the world.

  3. The iced Vietnamese coffee and piping hot bowl of beef pho are making me salivate! How lucky of you to be eating and travelling in HCMC.

  4. yes, i had a nice time, the food was good and it was definitely a different experience!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

