I am not afriad of tomorrow, for I have seen yesterday and I love today~William Allen White

“Hue Cuisine” is also known as “imperial court cuisine”, and it is of course regarded as the best and most delicious cuisine by Vietnamese.  Though the name implies it might only be eaten by kings and emperors, these traditional everyday Hue cuisine tells the life and story of Vietnamese people.  For me, it serves an important purpose– it provides delight and pleasure to the palettes, we were in food heaven.

this is definitely a very famous and delicious dish of steam cake with a bit of dried shrimps on top. Hue cuisine tends to have a lot of sauces to match the dishes, and I must say the taste of the sauces is another delight in itself. There was a group of 4 Japanese tourist sitting at the table next to us and all they ordered were a basket of these steam cake for each person. It really is THAT GOOD

mussels with grilled cake--you basically scoop the minced mussels onto the grilled cake and dip in sauce to eat

i don't remember what this is, it's some kinda of shrimp wrapped in rice wrap--lots of seafood in Vietnam

this is pork paste wrapped in banana leaf--I don't really like eating it plain like this, I prefer it in noodles or wrapped up with rice paper dunked in sauce

haha, grilled pork paste with Vietnamese rice noodles follow

i am not even going to share how many of these stuffed snail I had in Vietnam, this is definitely one of the top dishes I enjoyed most!

Vietnamese cuisines consist of a lot of food wrapped in rice paper, noodles, and variety of vegetables, this one is wrapped with grilled pork paste

this is a beef rice noodle wrap

this is a shrimp rice noodle wrap--at the end of the trip, I decide I can make a lot of rice noodle wrap at home for lunch too! The most interesting thing I have discovered is they use star fruit and pineapple as part of the wrap and I really like how it taste

 

 

Comments on: "vietnam’s imperial court cuisines" (2)

  1. Yummy blog!!

  2. […] my previous blog on Hue Cuisine  (imperial court cuisine) foods in […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

