I am not afriad of tomorrow, for I have seen yesterday and I love today~William Allen White

The first time I was exposed to masala tea was in Singapore a few years back when I ordered a Himalayan tea latte from McCafe to start off my day of shopping.  My original idea was to order something I haven’t tried before and couldn’t find in Hong Kong.    The second I took a sip of the hot beverage, I was instantly in love of the exotic taste and flavor.  I think the best way to describe the taste is that it is similar to chai tea latte from Starbucks, though I find the Himalayan tea to be more exotically flavored and the taste is not so one-spiced dimensional.  Haha, does that make sense?  However, I need to point out McCafe uses powder to mix the drink, and I don’t like to consume creamers, so I never bother buying the three-in-one with all the creamer, sugar, and stuff I don’t believe in.

Over the weekend, I found masala loose leaf at Mustafa Center, which I’ll described as a crazy mad house of millions of goods chaotically placed on shelves after shelves, floors after floors, it really is a crazy mad house in Little India.  Anyway, I finally decided to create my own “Himalayan tea latte” and I need to praise myself and give myself a pat on the back, because yes!  It was that good!!!

OMG, there is absolutely no turning back and I have upgraded away from McCafe powdered Himalayan tea, muhaha.

loose leaf masala tea typically consists of strong Ceylon black tea leaves which will bring out the flavors of spices. The typical spices found are cinnamon, ginger, cardomom, fennel seeds, peppercorn, and cloves.

because i plan on making masala tea lattee, i used maybe 1/4 cup of hot water to bring out the taste of the tea before I put milk into the drink

because milk is good for me, I made a masala tea latte

Comments on: "masala tea…once your started…there is no turning back" (8)

  1. when you are next in mustafa again, please buy their cardamon infused evaporated milk … it won’t disappoint. love it!

  2. omg, another good tip to get me more hooked to this exotic tea omg ^^ Mustafa itself was such an eye-opener, I must go back again soon, the first time was just too much to take in

  3. you have to start sharing other recipes too! 😀 Seems like you’re often surrounded by yummy food 😀

  4. Tan Teck said:

    I am equally crazy over Masala Chai, was searching where to buy it in Singapore and stumbled onto your site!

    Thanks!

  5. Hi!, May i know which brand of loose tea leaves did you get from Mustafa? I’m a huge addict of Masala tea too 🙂

    • hihi, so sorry, I forgot the brand, but I bought the loose leaves instead of the teabags. I find the loose leaves to be more fragrant after you seep the tea.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

