I am not afriad of tomorrow, for I have seen yesterday and I love today~William Allen White

Who moved my cheese?

“Who moved my cheese” by Spencer Johnson is one of those books to keep on the bookshelves, no matter how many times you move houses or countries because that story within the book only takes an hour to absorb but leave a very profound message to the reader.  Since having a copy from 2002 (almost 10 years ago), it is one of those “chicken soup for the soul”, that special and magical ingredient I need to inhale every once in awhile.

My favorite “cheese on the wall saying” that I take dearly with me is:

Imagining Myself

Enjoying New Cheese

Even Before I Find it,

Leads Me To It.

Of the four characters in the book, I find myself to be most like “scurry”, though sometimes I wish I am “sniff”.  It would be totally cool to be always at the forefront, able to sniff out the problems and see the change before they happen.  But being “scurry” isn’t so bad because when the change happens, that means I would immediately react to it right away.  I know I am not those type of people to sit around moping, wishing, and hoping to return to what was before.  For that, I pat myself on the back.  Being “scurry” means sometimes I run way too far off the course and needs to be reign back.  So I am lucky that there are people around me to pull me back in the right direction when I am too far off the course.

The book is an amazing eye opener that forces the readers to open their eyes and analyze their lives, to deal and to accept changes when they happen.  But most importantly, it is not telling you to just let go of something just because it turned sour or it becomes a monotonous pattern, it is telling you to look at the situation and decide if it is the situation that has turned bad or if it is negative personal traits that need to change.

“What would you do if you weren’t afraid?  Sometimes fear can be good.  When you are afraid things are going to get worse if you don’t do something, it can prompt you into action.  But it is not good when you are so afraid that it keeps you from doing anything”.

If you haven’t read the cheese story, read it!  If you have, that means you have a copy, read it again!

Life is no straight and easy corridor along

which we travel free and unhampered,

but a maze of passages,

through which we must seek our way,

lost and confused, now and again

checked in a blind alley.

 

But always, if we have faith,

a door will open for us,

not perhaps one that we ourselves

would ever have thought of,

but one that will ultimately

prove good for us.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

