I am not afriad of tomorrow, for I have seen yesterday and I love today~William Allen White

My little best friend

Today, I am feeling a little bit emotional and touched when my little best friend from elementary school found me on facebook after we have not seen each other for over 16 years.  We are the two little Asian girls that are the best of friends way back in Calgary Alberta Canada.  Her family moved to Calgary and for the next year and a half, we became best friends in grade 5 and a bit of grade 6 before my family moved to Vancouver. 

This is the girl I hang around with during recess and lunch time, and we would go back to my house and spend more time together after school.  When my family moved to Vancouver, we didn’t keep in touch, I was only 11-ish and I am never one to write letters or keep a diary when I was young anyway.  I have never forgotten her from my memory as I developed a new circle of friends in high school, then in university, but I have never “actively” search her out over the Internet with the breakout of ICQ, MSN, Friendster, Facebook. 

Suddenly, this morning, before heading to the office, I got a friend request from a girl who asked me if I use to go to Fred Seymour Elementary school.  I was really touched she found me online because she told me she has tried a lot of other “bonnie” online before she found me.  Suddenly my childhood flashes before me, of us running around in the snow, making snowmen, eating snow with syrup, having snowball fights (Yes, Calgary is like the Arctic).  Little odd details started surfacing from my memory, I remember there used to be a teacher with golden blonde hair and lots of makeup that would come up to us at recess and tell my friend the boy that keeps stealing her sneaker has a crush on her.  I even remember that boy running up to us at recess and he would grab onto my friend’s leg and won’t let go. 

I am really happy we have semi reunited online after 16 years, we started emailing each other back and forth as if the 16 years of our growing up separately don’t exist.  But I also feel a little bad because I haven’t looked her up like she had for me, and I feel like such a bad friend.  Maybe I am getting older now, I started treasuring and valuing all the friends and people I met from my past.  Afterall, they shape me into who I am today and are a part of me.  Dear friend, thank-you for your persistency and coming back into my life, looks like I know who to be friends with even as a little kid!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

