I am not afriad of tomorrow, for I have seen yesterday and I love today~William Allen White

Different Hairdos

After the shave last week,  I started reflecting on the past years and the various haircuts (good & bad) my dog Pretzel has had.  The most horrifying cut that left my dog and I shuddering happened when he was a mere puppy in Canada.  We had the cut in Petcetera in Vancouver, and it wasn’t cheap, but it was humiliating! 

The horrible cut

While my boy dog looks like a girl, he is indeed a boy, so I don’t understand why they cut his hair which makes the statement “I am a girl”!  I gave specific instruction to shave him and to put no ribbons or accessories on the dog because he’s a boy.  When I picked him in two hours later, I cannot believe the groomers have cut his ears in such a way it looks like he has permanent pigtails!  To add further insult, the groomers decided to give Pretzel a pink ribbon on his collar to further highlight his “non-existent” feminity.  Because he was a puppy then, I do not walk him in a retractable leash; rather, he has a little harness that strap his legs and the leash has a little white flower hanging.  So….it was so embarrassing for both the dog and the owner to walk from the doggy mart to the parking lot!  I still remember there were two guys that were walking into the store and started chuckling when they see Pretzel and said “cute”, in a sarcastic way! 

no haircuts from pet cetera ever again!

I think dogs have sixth sense that is more accurate than woman and he probably picked up on my “I am so embarrassed by your cut” emotion and he refused to go anywhere for close to a week!  He kept hiding in his bed and sticking his face behind his paws as if to hide from the world. 

My humiliation to him

In additiona to embarrassing haircuts, I have put Pretzel in awkward situations.  In general, my dog has a normal short hairstyle compared to what Maltese looks like.  Once, I kept it quite long and decided to do the famous Maltese style, which is typing up a knot of hair on the front of his head.  Oh my goodness, once again, he looks ridiculous!  Unlike the embarrassing haircut that took months to grow back, I can quickly undo the elastic band that was holding up a chuck of  hair in the front.

There are good cuts

Of course there have been cool cuts that make Pretzel proud.  I have given him a “poodle style” cut before that left his body shaved, a puppy face, and lots of hair on his four legs.  I think it looks really cool on him and people think he is a poodle! 

pretending to be a poodle

Lately for summer though, to avoid knots forming on the legs, I decided on a full close shave leaving just a tad on hair to make a puppy face.  Very cute,  but I need people to stop thinking he’s a chihuahua, because those small dogs kind of scared me.  They kind of remind me of a giant rodent, hees.  But then again, I always feel like my dog is half rabbit and half boy.

clearly needs a haircut look

cute as a button puppy--all shy when he arrvies

a windswept look

normal length on pretzel

shaved look but oddly very long ears--looks like a girl....

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

