I am not afriad of tomorrow, for I have seen yesterday and I love today~William Allen White

THE wishing tree

 

THE wishing tree is the magical tree located in the territories of Hong Kong in a village called “Lam Tsuen” in Tai Po.  The “real” wishing tree is made up of two banyan trees, which is frequented by thousands of visitors during the Chinese New year. It is traditional practice for visitors to write wishes on a placard tied to an orange and throw it up onto the tree. With the weight of thousands of oranges and wishes hanging on its branches, the tree started giving way and a period of conservation begins in 2005 in hope the two banyan trees will continue to grow and flourish. However, the tradition of making wishes during CNY has continued and the village has purchased a very real looking foam treeso visitorscan make wishes during CNY. Rumour has it that the higher a paper placard is hung on the top branches, the higher the chances the wishes would come true.

the village entrace to the wishing tree

performers strolling around

pinning wishes onto the board

temple ground

I was super excited to visit the wishing tree and to write down my wishes for the upcoming year.  I wrote out my wishes on the nice little pink placard that is tied to a string alongside a foam orange, which I kissed for good luck.  The intense moment arrives when I tried really hard to have my wish successfully thrown up onto the branches on the very first try!  Of course it dropped to the ground and I hurriedly ran over to pick it up to throw up again, and a little kid stepped onto my placard!  I keep whacking on his leg telling him to step aside and he keeps looking at me with doe eyes and continue sucking his lollipop!  After a little while, I finally got my paper placard safely in my hands for a second try, and it fell down again.  With the wind and my violent throw, my placard and my orange separated, eek!  I started running in two separate directions and restring my orange and placard and to give it a third try.  Of course it is only the 3rd try that is the lucky throw!

people busy writing out their wishes

this is actually a foam tree, but it looks so real right?

hmmm...doesn't look as pretty from this side

 

wishes made on paper placards and tied to foam oranges

Comments on: "THE wishing tree" (3)

  1. Wonder how many wishes were for Peace 🙂
    Glad you were able to get your wish in the tree!

    • many many wishes were for peace…on the paper placard you can write your wishes on one side and on the other side, if you’re lazy, you can just tick the boxes and I peeked, many ppl have checked the box for world peace

  2. This is a Chinese Wishing Tree people write their wishes on colorful red wishing paper and then they throw them up into the tree. If the wishes stick it is thought that they will come true!……Our visit to Nanjing was one we will not soon forget.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

