I am not afriad of tomorrow, for I have seen yesterday and I love today~William Allen White

“My favorite hole” is in reference to the eating streets of  Tai Hang, there is a secret shortcut that allows me to breeze down the hill from where I live on Jardine’s Lookout to “my favorite hole”, with little Pretzel as my sidekick.   I love this strip, love the shops, the people, and just the atmosphere these few streets possess–nothing pretentious or “hip” about it, just streets with people open for business serving good foods.  It’s tucked away secretly from the hustle and bustle of Causeway Bay, the mega shopping district, yet it is totally possible to walk to from Causeway Bay for all those interested in some good cuisines from all walks of life–Japanese fine dining, pho, ramen, Japanese skewers, a good old bowl of wonton noodles, hot pot, “dai pai dongs” (outdoor eating),  italian pasta, desserts, a good joint for drinking and haggling with friends, just anything imaginable, and they could all be found at  “my favorite hole”, which is a few streets tucked away known as “tai hang 大坑”–literally translated as “the big hole”.   It is a valley or a gap tucked away with an opening to Causeway Bay and Tin Hau, the 2 MTR stations closest to Tai Hang.

“My favorite hole” is slowly becoming more and more well-known to locals and people that do not live around Jardine’s Lookout, Tai Hang, Braimer Hill, and Tin Hau.  Of course it is famous for good eats, but it is also a famous place for local celebrities to dine at because of its secluded location in the middle of the city.  The food shows are really exposing “my favorite hole”  to the world, sharing the hidden talents of famous chefs that are opening restaurants at Tai Hang, and the media keeps sharing celebrities sightings and “which star has dined at what place”. 

I usually don’t eat there anymore over the weekend because of the crazy line ups that occur, as these eateries are small little restaurants that could only serve a handful of patrons at one time.  That is what makes “my favorite hole” my favorite place, and I hope that while it is opening up to more people seeking good foods, the image of it in my heart will not change, afterall, I do refer to it as a “hole”, and not a “drinking strip” like Soho or LKF (Lan kwai fong)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

