I am not afriad of tomorrow, for I have seen yesterday and I love today~William Allen White

 I actually feel very sorry for Muslims who are being stereotyped and ostracized because of their faith and religion, they have nothing to do with the attacks on the World Trade Towers in New York or all the terrorist attacks that are happening around the world. While I acknowledge these extremists are most certainly carrying out attacks and hiding behind a mask of faith and religion and that these attacks have nothing to do with the millions of Muslims across the world, it certainly is doing the religion no favor.

 While many people in the West are raised to have an open-mind and be tolerant of differences, let’s face it; racism exists, discrimination is everywhere—it’s only a matter of if it’s inertly or overtly displayed. For me, the reason I say “no” actually have nothing to do with the fact that it’s near Ground Zero, I say “no” because racism and discrimination exist and by opening a mosque so close to Ground Zero, it’s offering a channel for others to incorrectly direct their anger and raw emotions.

Why do you want to be a target? It will guarantee to happen, so why would the mosque let its disciples face overt acts of racism everyday? This actually leads me to comment on the French and their ban on women completely covering their face. I would make one statement: If I see a person walking down the street completely covered from head-to-toe, I would be scared; because all of us are born to be scared of the unknown. The emotion I feel—being scared, has nothing to do with the fact you’re Muslim, or you’re from the Middle East, I am scared because there is a person standing in front of me all covered up while I am all exposed, and the unknown frightens me.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

